Household members, shared ips, connectivity woes

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Pinoit, Apr 16, 2015.

1. Pinoit

Pinoit Well-Known Member

I will try to keep this brief for the sake of clarity.

My husband (forum name Callixtus) and I started playing here in late January. We got up and running without much trial and error, but we have been plagued with connectivity issues (not unlike others as reflected in other posts).

We have tried many different things to circumvent the problem (port forwarding, VPNs), and while some have worked better than others, it was never truly resolved.

Yesterday, something changed. I tried logging on my characters when my husband had all three of his loaded up. Each time I hit the character select screen I was presented with a "You Have Been Disconnected" black screen. We tried several different solutions including enabling/disabling our VPN, rebooting the router, nothing worked until my husband logged off one of his three. Suddenly, I was able to log two of my characters on, but neither of us were able to log on all three.

I am now wondering if our problems stem from the fact that we are both on a shared connection? I have scoured these forums looking for information on this, but I do recall reading something on the old forums about needing to request IP exemptions for family members (spouses, etc.).

My question is, how do we start this process, and is here is such a process in place?

Thanks in advance! We really do enjoy playing here together, along with our distant friend 4 provinces away (yep, we're Canadian!)

2. Callixtus

Callixtus New Member

To add to this if I may.

Disconnections are about 80-90% "zoning" related and 10% is just random disconnects. When using a VPN option, you can't log into Neriak Commons, which caused some headaches about 5 weeks ago when we had characters "stuck" without knowing that it was the vpn that was causing the issue.