Getting Started - Have some Questions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Zagitiah, Aug 3, 2018.

1. Zagitiah

Zagitiah New Member

Hail TAKP!

I’ve been looking for a place to play old EQ and I hope this is the place for me! I used to play on Valon Zek and had a lvl 53ish warrior. I stopped playing 15 years ago around the release of LDON. I spent some time reading the forums and wiki but I have a bunch of questions before I jump in.

Computer related:

1) I just purchased a new macbook pro – will I be able to run the program smoothly?

2) I use to play on Windows back in the day – is it a very different play experience?

3) Are the instructions to install easy to follow? I’m not very tech savvy.

4) Is this program secure? Do I risk slowing my computer or getting bugs from the extra software I need to install?

Server related – as I previously said I used to play on Vallon Zek so I have some game play questions:

5) There is no PVP, correct? So all races can group together?

6) Will the NPCs in the towns kill you if you are an enemy race?

7) I believe it said Luclin just came out but it is based on Planes of Power era… so is there a way to port and is there planes of knowledge?

8) What happens when I die? Do I lose XP, can I get a rez to get it back? Do I have to do a corpse run to get all of my equipment?

9) Boxing – I have never done this before but I think I am down to give it a shot. It would at least seem useful if I can’t find a group. Does 3 boxing mean controlling 3 characters at once? So you switch back and forth between them all?

10) Boxing - I previously played a dark elf warrior and dark elf healer. Would this be a good combo along with a third? Suggestions on the third? I’d probably want to stay evil because I enjoyed Neriak and lava storm and want to level up there.

Thanks in advance for helping out this noob! I am so excited to return to Norath!

-Zagitiah

2. Lenas

Lenas I Feel Loved

1) Yes, I three box on a 2015 macbook air.