F8 not working correctly? Input needed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mambo, Oct 5, 2016.

1. Mambo

Mambo Well-Known Member

Usual disclaimer: I Played on live for 15 years. Never on AK, never on an EMU until TAKP, and no other EMU other than TAKP.

Moderators: Feel free to move this if and when it should be.

I am almost lv 40 on my 3 toons, so I have no experience with any of the fun places that most of the server probably inhabits, and certainly no experience yet with raid zones on TAKP. That said, I've noticed that F8 doesn't appear to work correctly.

On live, grouping aside, I was the main assist on raids for north of 6 years. In groups, I frequently pulled if there was no splitting. I used F8 constantly. The only time I didn't use F8 was if I needed to select a specific mob (read: non-mezzable mobs, mobs already being off-tanked, robes vs. 4-armed women in VT, etc.). I cannot recall a time-period, a zone, or any circumstances where using my mouse (right click-hold to look/left click move forward) where F8 did not interact correctly.

However, on TAKP it seems to not function frequently. In some zones (Kaesora being the most recent annoyance), it appears completely random if it will work or not. Sometimes I HAVE to use mouse-click to target. Frequently mouse-click doesn't work well (another difference from live?), though, so I have a 2-5 second delay where I am trying aimlessly to target mobs. If I keep moving around, sometimes F8 will work, or if not I can eventually click-target.

I never play in F9.

Have other people experienced these issues? I figured if this was a problem on raids that I would have seen a post by now. This would be infuriating on a raid.

2. Bastette

Bastette Active Member

It appears to be greatly effected by z-index. It doesn't seem different from what I remember on AK though, it can be very frustrating at times...

3. Jugo!

Jugo! People Like Me