State of the beastlord?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ripwind, Apr 25, 2016.

1. Ripwind

Ripwind People Like Me

Good morning/afternoon/whenever you read this

I'm pretty new to the server, but not so new to the EQ emulator scene. I was pretty excited to be able to roll a Beastlord (Syphie, L15 Barb BL,) but have heard of some limitations.

Is there any current documentation that shows the current state of the Beastlord? Like what spells they do/don't have access to - as I understand it, stuff like Spiritual Light isn't currently available?

I'm also not super interested in boxing, so BL seemed like a great pick to be able to solo and offer utility whenever I can pick up a group.

Anyhow, sorry for the newb question.

Thanks!
    -Year/Syphie

2. Lenas

Lenas I Feel Loved

Your problems are going to be gear related, no spell related. BST gear is on some things here but you're basically screwed until Luclin comes out.

3. Ripwind

Ripwind People Like Me

Ahh, thanks for the reply. I assume some classic/kunark stuff isn't itemized for BL yet, like fungi tunic for example?

Also, are all of the BL spells from the wiki available, then?

Thanks!

4. Ghakim

Ghakim Well-Known Member

BLs suffer the following problems:

There is no mana regen spell until 59 (spiritual purity) and the lack of the lower level versions is definitely felt.

We do not have an epic until Luclin.

There are no drops or quests in Plane of Sky for BLs.

People say that gear is a problem for BLs but here are the facts:

You can wear a fungi.

You can get a full set of planar gear (drops in plane of fear). The stats on this equipment are better itemized then the equipment for "classic" classes.

You can get a full set of "kunark clicky" armor drops including items from VS and Trak. (again better stat itemization).

There are full sets of Velious quest items from each of the 3 factions.

You can wear almost all leather items that are not class specific.